ITC, GIBSS, TCS, BPCL, WIPRO among Parivartan Sustainability Leadership Awards Winners

Multi-business conglomerate ITC, Green and CleanTech Leader GIBSS, Oil major BPCL, IT majors TCS and Wipro and banking leader IndusInd Bankwere amongst 14 Indian corporates that bagged the Parivartan Sustainability Leadership Awards for 2012.

GIBSS bagged the award for Sustainability innovation for addressing resource challenges in energy through Geothermal Air Conditioning innovation. GIBSS, a pioneer in geothermal air conditioning, uses its innovation to reduce HVAC operating costs in commercial buildings by 60-80%.

In addition, the awards also featured Sustainability Leaders of the Year category to recognize senior business leaders who have successfully introduced sustainability measures within their organizations and /or sectors they operate in. “We are extremely delighted to receive the Parivartan Sustainability Leadership Award 2012. It is a matter of pride and priority for our company to strive for environmental sustainability and we are happy that our efforts are being recognized”, said Niranjan Khatri, General Manager – Welcomenviron Initiatives of ITC Welcomgroup, a winner in the Corporate Sustainability Stewardship category.

The awards were presented at the evening plenary of the Annual Summit of the Sustainable Business Leadership Forum, India’s first market development forum on Sustainability and Innovation, held in New Delhi on October 11, 2012. The winners were arrived at after a rigorous 3 step review and the finalists were judged by an eminent 7 member jury headed by Dr. S.Y. Quraishi, Former Chief Election Commissioner of India. Other jury members included Stuart L. Hart, S.C. Johnson Chair of Sustainable Global Enterprise at Cornell University, Bakul R. Patel, Board Director, Infrastructure Development Finance Company (IDFC), Rita Menon, Chairperson -cum-Managing Director, India Trade Promotion Organisation, Dr. Uddesh Kohli, Chairman Emeritus – Construction Industry Development Council and Senior Advisor to the UN Global Compact, K.C. Mehra, Resident Director (Corporate), Shapoorji Pallonji Group and Bazmi Husain, Managing Director, ABB India.

Dr. Kirit Parikh, renowned economist and Former Member Planning Commission and Chair of the Integrated Energy Policy Committee of the Planning Commission was the Chief Guest at the Awards evening. Speaking on the occasion, Dr. Parikh extolled the Indian industry leaders to imbibe sustainability as a core aspect in their business planning and highlighted that given the ever increasing scarcity of key energy and water resources, businesses will do themselves a disservice by viewing and architecting these as mere responses to compliance measures.